These are the people at the MRI, at the MRI…

Today baby, omph and I had a visit at the children’s hospital for an MRI. Apparently baby did very well – she must have felt me holding my breath and stopped wiggling, and then danced away every time she felt me breathing again. Anyway no results until next week and probably won’t get a call so feasibly no results until the next antenatal appointment. This was more of a baseline check anyway – the 32 week MRI will probably be more useful.

There are some really awesome people at the hospital. There were these two mother/teen daughter pairs waiting for X-rays. They didn’t know each other but just started up the most hilarious conversation about stretching tattoos and smelly dreadlocks. Both kids had chronic conditions – one “lived at the hospital” and the other was far from home and in and out of hospitals all her life. I look at these mother/daughter pairs with awe at the strength and their ability to stay laughing and smiling in the situation they were in. My first hope is that baby and I won’t have to be in and out of hospital. I hope that she will be well enough to only make the cursory visits to the cardiologist, paediatric surgeon and paediatrician every now and then. But if we do, I hope that I will be able to shepherd my daughter through it all with as much grace, humour and casualness these mothers showed. And I hope that my girl will have the strength, friendliness and joy despite being in and out of hospital like those two teenagers showed.

Do you remember the song from Sesame Street –

these are the people in your neighbourhood
…they’re the people that you meet
as you’re walking down the street
they’re the people that you meet each day!

I am heartened that these will be the people I meet each day as we walk down this street. Just everyday people going through a tough situation with the most important people in their lives and doing it like champs. I know not everyone will be like these people. But once in a while will be enough to put a smile on my face.

2 thoughts on “These are the people at the MRI, at the MRI…”

  1. Think you may find Jess that the people that you meet when you’re walking down the street are also impressed at how awesome you are and how calm you seem, taking this scary journey all in your stride. Love to you all.

    Like

  2. Jess, I think your friend Kathy nailed it with her comment. Not just strangers, but all of us are amazed with you and how you are taking it all in stride. You are stronger than you think! You go girl! And baby girl!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

