Weekly gratitude review

I am grateful we have now made it to the homestretch. We are now less than 2 weeks away from our scheduled c-section.

I am grateful we have less than 2 weeks to go before I can get my body back. I have said it many times before – I am no good at being pregnant. From heartburn to sciatica, from dizziness to contractions. Last pregnancy I had vowed to work out more and stay more fit. Before the pregnancy I was running 5 k a day, or doing 20 flights of stairs. Then I was told to not exercise for two weeks for IVF protocol. Then I had bleeding and was told to not exercise for a month. Then we found out about baby’s extra omph. I wasn’t put on bedrest but emotionally I just wasn’t into working out. Top that off with just being really tired and nauseous, I basically did nothing for a couple of months. Before I knew it, I was 5 months in and trying to get back into some sort of fitness regimen was really difficult physically. And of course I was growing a baby so I just got bigger and bigger. The last month of this pregnancy has been so hard, carrying all the extra weight and suffering from all the pregnancy ailments. I am excited to be able to sit for more than an hour without my back killing me. I am excited to be able to go to the bathroom without getting out of breath. I am excited to be able to breathe normally again.

I am also grateful now that we are in the final stretch we can breathe easy about worrying about preterm labour. From 32 weeks onwards I felt a bit of relief every time we got through another week. Mark and I have been really quite paranoid and it has been hard not to look at last pregnancy’s preterm labour and quick delivery as a sure sign this baby will also do the same if not come quicker. Now we have less than two weeks before our scheduled c section. No more ultrasounds. Baby’s lungs don’t need a shot of steroids. We don’t need to worry even if I became dilated. Basically the only thing I am keeping track of is blood pressure, labour and water breaking – all of which would just mean my c section is bumped up a bit.

I am glad to be at this final stretch. The 6 months of waiting and fretting was getting old and now we are so close to getting past the waiting and worrying and onto the doing and moving forward. I can’t wait to meet our little girl, and although we still have a long road ahead at least it’s forging ahead and pushing forward. The next little while will probably be the scariest and hardest thing our family has had to deal with up until now, and the emotions felt during the past six months will no doubt pale in comparison. But we are as prepared as we can be. The time has come to jump in, fight through it and get to the other side.

Leave a Reply

