A year of gratitude experiment

A year ago on Thanksgiving I started my weekly gratitude experiment.  Every week I wrote a short post about what made me thankful over the week.  It was a chance for me to remind myself and everyone around that although this road has been hard, we are still very lucky and have a lot to be thankful for.  

A year later and I would judge this experiment as a success.  Lately I haven’t had as much time to blog and so I have missed a few weeks of gratitude review. But in general I haven’t missed too many weeks.  The weekly gratitude review helped me really focus on the positive happenings in our lives.  It was also a reminder for me to update the blog.  I am definitely going to continue with the weekly review – hopefully more consistently.  Looking back at the year we have had we have so much to be thankful for.  We are thankful for living in a city that has a top notch children’s hospital.  We are thankful for quality universal healthcare.  We are thankful for all the health care professionals that have treated Isabelle with so much care and thoughtfulness.   We are thankful for the childcare professionals that Addison spends her days with, making sure she is learning, growing and happy.  We are thankful for our loving friends who have been so generous with their time, love and donations in supporting Isabelle and our family.  We are thankful for supportive family who help when they can.  We are thankful for each other and the love that we all share.  

This year has seen us go through half a year of anxiously waiting, and then a whirlwind of life with two kids under 3.  Our journey so far has been quite different but also unusually the same as any other parent out there.  There were times of worry and times of stress, times of joy and silliness.  There were many milestones but also days where it seemed like we were taking steps backwards.  I am grateful for all of it, and all that we have.  

Happy Thanksgiving! 

Leave a Reply

